Gee Gees

So time to have lunch. I am a complete beginner with Japanese cuisine  and because I cannot read I have no idea what the myriad of restaurants around Asakusa are offering. It is true that some display photos and even models of their meals but I somehow feel this is cheating.

In a tiny alley I penetrate a minute restaurant that has a plastic bag attached to the front so people can eat outside.

Stylish

There are about 4 tables and a bench attached to the wall, which is where I sit. It is very warm inside and a group of Tokyoyos are watching the horse racing on a huge screen.

Giddy up

What a great way to spend a Saturday afternoon – sit in a bar guzzle bear, I mean beer, and great food whilst losing money on the races. They get very animated as one of them has clearly done very well. Great atmosphere.

I order by mime

I will have some of that please

and get a wonderful lunch – salad,clams in sake, spicy beef stew with daikon and ice cold beer.

The bowls are hand made

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

