Come Fly With Me

I really love long flights. Yesterday I went Osaka – Amsterdam.  It took 12 hours, too short. I wish these flights would never end. You are in a completely strange environment in which no one knows who you are, what you do, what you think. With a bit of luck no one will speak to you throughout the whole trip other than flight personnel bringing you food and drink.  There is no time, as you drift between time zones. There is no place, as where you are now is very different compared to where you were 15 minutes ago. Where are you anyway?  You are somewhere in a silver capsule miles high over Siberia travelling at hundreds of miles an hour – how strange is that?

Wish I had thought about my IPhone when we were over Siberia. This is Holland

With any luck you have a window seat and it is a clear day. You can look down on the world and realize how much of it there is. Yesterday we flew over Northern Russia for 9 hours. It was crystal clear throughout and I saw almost no signs of humanity just snowy wastes  and forests that went on and on and on and on, then ice flows, then pack ice, then snowy wastes  and forests that went on and on and on and on.  I love it.  Does earth have anything to show more fair?

I was lucky enough to be flying Business, which means lying around in great comfort like an elephant seal, occasionally opening my mouth so extremely caring people can place delicacies and fine wines into it.

I read “Into the Silence” by David Wade, I doze, I look out of the window.

Spot the tulips. Pointilliste IPhone

 

Come fly with me, let’s fly let’s fly away
If you can use some exotic booze
There’s a bar in far bombay
Come fly with me, let’s fly let’s fly away

Come fly with me, let’s float down to peru
In lama land, there’s a one man band
And he’ll toot his flute for you
Come fly with me, let’s take off in the blue

Once I get you up there,
Where the air is rarefied
We’ll just glide
Starry eyed
Once I get you up there
I’ll be holding you so near
You may heat the angels cheer – just because we’re together

Weatherwise it’s such a lovely day
Just say the words, and we’ll beat the birds
Down to acapulco bay
It’s perfect, for a flying honeymoon – they say
Come fly with me, let’s fly let’s fly away

Once I get you up there,
Where the air is rarefied
We’ll just glide
Starry eyed
Once I get you up there
I’ll be holding you so near
You may hear all the angels cheer – just because we’re together

Weatherwise it’s such a kooky day
You just say the words, and I’ll beat the birds
Down to acapulco bay
It’s perfect, for a flying honeymoon – they say
Come fly with me
Let’s fly let’s fly
Pack up let’s fly away

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Come Fly With Me

  1. Mike Taylor says:

    Dull would he be of soul…

Leave a Reply

