The Shortest Night

I remember a film  called The Longest Day about the D Day landings. I recently experienced the The Shortest Night with landings in Paris, Osaka and Naha.

I first fly from Lyon to Paris across the Kodachrome yellow of French rape fields. I do not remember rape being a crop as a boy. I wonder when it became popular?

Aldous Huxley

“What are you in for?”

“Sure, I got 2 weeks for stealing potatoes.” says the hapless Irishman.

“Well, I got life for rape.”

” Holy Mother of God, you must have eaten the whole field.”

Paris to Osaka flying East.   I look out of the window.

Somewhere over the Baltic

Northern Russia

Very soon the sun goes down.

I love flying

I watch Easy Rider. which  fits perfectly with timeless, spaceless nature of traveling East in a daze.

Get your motor running
Head on down the runway

Then, in about as much time as it takes to cross from LA to New Orleans in the movie, the sun appears to have whipped around the world and is making itself known over the horizon.

In russet mantle clad

Faith is the bird that feels the light when the dawn is still dark.

I suppose the fact that we are whizzing eastward at high speed and the sun is whizzing westward at even higher speed , like beams  in a collider, results in the shortness of the night. However, I find it tiring to think about these things.

Nihon!

I go to the toilet in Osaka.

What a nice place

I sleep from Osaka to Okinawa.

How would you know that this is Okinawa?

I cannot understand people who moan about long distance flights. They are awesome.

awe·some

[aw-suhm]  Show IPA

adjective

1.

inspiring awe: an awesome sight.

awe

noun

1.

an overwhelming feeling of reverence, admiration, fear,etc., produced by that which is grand, sublime, extremely powerful, or the like:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

