Many a SlipTwixt Cup and Lip

So, I was keeping this secret from you but I am buying a boat. I found it on the amazing Okinawa Yard Sale site.

http://www.okinawayardsales.com/

Perfect boat for me, 14 ft, light enough to pull up onto the beach in front of the house. I could put a tiny outboard on it and chug very slowly out through the golden road of the sunset. It is all settled and this weekend I start a new life of seafaring. I have spent hours dreaming of casting the anchor beyond the reef, fishing in the clear morning air. When it gets a little hot I cast myself over the thwart and plunge down to the coral through the vodka water with my black Polynesian hair streaming behind me. Brightly colored fish skitter away whilst the turtles and white-tailed sharks continue to cruise, looking up to grin  “Hi Neil, nice boat.”

My boat's road

My boat’s road

I phone, hardly able to contain my joy, to fix delivery.

” Oh sorry, some guy just passed with cash. The boat has gone.”

Why should I sit and cry,
Puin’ bracken, Puin’ bracken
Why should I sit and sigh,
On the hillside dreary?

When I see the plover rising
Or the curlew wheeling,
Then I trow  my mortal lover,
Back to me is stealing.

Why should I sit and cry,
Puin’ bracken, Puin’ bracken
Why should I sit and sigh,
On the hillside dreary?

Hillside dreary

Hillside dreary

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Many a SlipTwixt Cup and Lip

  1. zedmac says:

    oh noooooooooooooooooooo!

  2. Alan says:

    Shame. That turkey fryer looks interesting. Deep frying an entire turkey sounds uber-Scottish. On to the next pirogue.

  3. Ian Calder says:

    It may mean something perhaps a drowning averted? I have heard a rumour that Hobie leg paddled canoes are planning a model with a v small engine, which would be interesting. Meanwhile, I liked the para cord crosses – maybe more effective than crossing fingers?

  4. Pingback: A Boat of My Own | The Quiet Ripple Defines The Pond

Leave a Reply

